lmmayerchak

Just another WordPress.com site

June 3- Sulfur City, Vegas, or otherwise known as Rotorua

Today I woke up in a slightly grumpy mood. I was very ready to leave the hostel, there were so many people there in the kitchen (when my mood started) and two weeks is just about my limit to live somewhere like that. I’m not sure if I wrote a lot about what the conditions were like, but I’ll tell you what got annoying. My room was right across the hall from the community shower stall and “toilet” stalls. They don’t call them bathrooms or restrooms here, you don’t bath or rest in a room with just a toilet. So we could constantly hear the doors shut at all hours of the night. Not to mention, they were pretty gross. My first shower was wonderful- I had been in my clothes for about two days straight from all the plane rides and it felt so good to be clean. After that though, everything gross became super noticeable. I think these past two weeks; I have taken the fastest showers ever just to be back in the room and out of the stalls. The hallway ALWAYS smelled so bad, like B.O. so we didn’t spend much time there. The kitchen and eating area was super big, but there were always so many people crowded around, getting food out of their cubbies, using the sinks and stoves, and just hanging out. Needless to say, I was ready for a change of scenery.

We were supposed to take a van (that seated about 10, which is our entire group) on the four hour bus ride to Rotorua. Cameron, our bus driver was super super awesome and brought a huge bus for our travel day. Everyone had about 4 seats to themselves and it was so nice to spread out and take pictures on the way there. We stopped at the Shire’s Rest and went on the Hobbiton tour. That was sooo cool! Unfortunately, we had to sign a waiver stating that everything we saw and heard wouldn’t be publically displayed until the second Hobbit movie was released. But I can put up all the sheep pictures I took! The set of the movie is right on a sheep farm and there were probably about 500 sheep just walking around the whole time we were there (had to watch where we stepped though!).

After our tour, we got back on the bus and rode for another two hours to Rotorua. Once we got there, we checked into our HOTEL (such a nice upgrade) and figured out who was sleeping where. There are three rooms, Dr. Cunningham gets her own room, and there are seven of us with four beds, a trundle, and a couch between the two rooms. So, I’m in a double with Beth and everyone else split it up the way they wanted. I think it will probably work out, no one seems upset with the situation. Although Ethan is sleeping outside a room of girls on the couch, that should be interesting.

The main street of Rotorua is about 15 blocks long and there are all kinds of shops around. I went window shopping with a few girls from my group, we stopped in some souvenir places and I got a few little trinkets to remember my trip when I go home. It was getting to be dinner time, so we ate at this cute café called Fat Dog. There was so much to look at on the menu; it took us about 10 minutes to decide just what we wanted. I ordered a roast chicken Panini and it was delicious! It had chicken, cream cheese, red onions, mango slices, and peace sauce. It was very big too and I was a happy camper after I cleaned the plate! I didn’t do much else after dinner except repack my suitcase (after I took out five outfits for the time we are here) and then it’s to bed! Tomorrow is going to be a very full day… Maori museum at 11 and then Maori dinner at 5:45. I’m sure there’ll be lots to say about that!

June 4, 2011 Posted by | Uncategorized | 4 Comments