lmmayerchak

Just another WordPress.com site

May 31- In the Library

Today is going to be a little bit different for me. I’m sitting in the library at Pt. England now converting all of my video files to avi so that I can edit them in a program I have. Dr. Cunningham asked me to make a movie for the school of our experience here for the past two weeks. So last night, everyone dropped all their pictures and videos onto my laptop and it’s now my job to compile everything into movie maker, add transitions, music, and the edited video clips before tomorrow! It’s a big job, but pretty exciting. I made a few movies of different things in technology methods class last semester, so Dr. Cunningham has faith! While I’m waiting on all these videos to convert, I’m going to catch up on the reading I have to do for my class. I’ll be taking my test at the beginning of next week and I still have about 3 chapters left to cover. It’s so hard to find the motivation and brain power to read at night, especially with chatty girls as roommates. So that’s why I’m taking a  break from being in a classroom for the day, and possibly tomorrow too.

Yesterday was pretty much the same as Friday, nothing super special happened that was worth commenting on. I am working in a year 5 classroom currently and helping with reading, writing, and math lessons. The class is  broken into learning groups depending on their abilities which makes it easy to work with individuals on their level. That’s how the whole school operates and sometimes it can get crazy with the other part of the class not staying on task (because the teacher is focusing only on her small group) but for the most part, it works.

I am super tired today for some reason, so I can tell it’s going to be a slow day. I made dinner last night for the group- grilled cheese and soup. It got a little overwhelming with so many people hovering around waiting on sandwiches (I could only cook three at a time) but I just switched back to King Drug mode and was able to do it pretty well. Everyone said they were really good, so I’m happy it went well. I’m going to keep working and maybe post more a little later when I get back to the hostel after school. Tonight, we are cooking breakfast for dinner so that should be good! I’ll  catch you guys later  : )

May 30, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. You go girl!!!! Maybe you, Josh and Sara can start your own education video business! Keep plugging away!

    Comment by Gary Collins | May 30, 2011 | Reply

  2. You made the very best grilled cheeses, creamy pimento cheese on top of salads, and of course your delish egg salad!!! 🙂 I’m ready to sit at your table! love, possum

    Comment by Possum Thomas | May 31, 2011 | Reply

  3. Whoa!! It makes me soooo tired just reading what you have been up too in just ONE DAY!! I am not in the least bit surprised that Dr. Cunningham asked you to do the editing, make the transitions and put all of the videos and pics into a movie with sound!! Aren’t you so glad that you had your technology class LAST semester already!! She knew that you are the woman for the job!! I am soo proud of you Ladybug! Will we be able to see a copy of the movie at some point? I remember your movie profile that you made last semester and how all of the dept. LOVED it! Your talents and skills are paying off!
    I know that you feel swamped with teaching school, preparing all of the videos and movies, cooking for the hostel,studying, preparing and taking tests for your Wake Class! Just take some “breathing” time and just do the best that you can. I am so excited that your next adventure will be working in the middle school classrooms! can’t wait to hear how that goes and what you think about that age group. This is an experience of a lifetime that you can go to another part of the world to see how children learn and how they are taught in comparison to the USA! It will help so much in the future,as a teacher, having these background experiences!
    Bubbie and I are having a wonderful time with Tris, Glenn and the babies! I wish I could send pics, but will at a later date. They have learned soooo much just since we have seen them at Easter!! You would be amazed! They both are so loving and hang off of Bubbie like Christams tree ornaments! We played with them all morning and then met Glenn at his work and we all went to a NEAT place for lunch! YOU WOULD HAVE LOVED IT! After they wake up from their nap, we plan to take them to feed Oscar, the fish.. remember him??? And then go to the Park to see all of the funny animals!! Remember the Ostrich and EMU!!
    I love reading your blogs everyday.. We miss you so much and wish you could be with us! Happy trails Sweetheart!
    I Love you forever…
    I like you for always…
    As long as I’m living…
    My baby you’ll be!

    Comment by Donna Collins | May 31, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

