lmmayerchak

Just another WordPress.com site

May 28- Sitting on my bed

It’s about 9pm and I’m just hanging out in my room with some of the girls from my group. We are all catching up on blogs and working on school stuff for the next week. After the farmers market, we went shopping a little bit and I got a cute outfit! Black pants that are flowy and super comfortable, a tank top for TWO dollars and super cute green “jumper” or sweater. Then we walked up the street to some consignment shops and ate this amazing pizza for “dinner” although it was only around 4pm. Some of our group kept shopping and the rest went back to the hostel. I decided to do some laundry and man, is that a story. So here’s what happened:

I took all my dirty clothes down in a bag and put them in. You have to pay to use the washer and drier so I put my coins in, but two got stuck. So I went down the hall to the front desk to see if they could fix it and the guy took out a knife and went to go shove them down. Before he did that, he pressed the coin return button and all the coins just came out. I was like “oh!” and he said, did you not try that? Of course I didn’t. So I get my clothes in and walk back upstairs to wait for about 35 minutes. During that time, I was talking to the girls and we were sharing high school stories and just getting to know each other. Well the time passed by and I went back downstairs to put my clothes in from the washer to the drier. My cycle still had two minutes left so I opened the door to the other machine to see if there were any clothes that I needed to get out. I was so confused when I saw a cup of detergent on the side that was full of soap ready to wash clothes. Then I figured out that I am the dumbest person on earth. I put my dirty clothes into the drier first, so I just had really hot dirty clothes and I paid 3 dollars for that. So. I march back upstairs, grab 4 more dollars, put my still dirty clothes in the WASHER and tried to actually WASH my clothes. Well then after that cycle, I put the clothes in the drier and walk down the street to get some organic ice cream. (It was soooooo good! I’m going back tomorrow night!!! And I’m coming back home with 20 pounds attached to my hips.) So I go up to the room when we get back and then remember my laundry is probably finished so I run downstairs only to remember that I needed something to put my clothes in to carry upstairs. So I trudge BACK upstairs, grab my rain jacket, fold my clothes into my jacket and FINALLY my laundry is finished and clean!

Tomorrow Beth and I are going to the grocery store to buy things for soup and grilled cheese since we are cooking on Monday. Then we are going to the Parnel, the arts district and having another relaxing afternoon! More to come on what happens!

May 28, 2011 Posted by | Uncategorized | 3 Comments

May 28- It’s a day to relax

It’s a little past 12 in the afternoon and I’ve already been so busy! I am back at my room for a few minutes to take a rest and regroup before the rest of the day. I woke up a little before 8, got a shower and headed downstairs to catch up on some reading for my class. My room was completely asleep until about 9:30 when I went back up to organize my suitcase. (It was getting a little mess, but it’s hard living out of a bag!) Around 11, Beth and I walked down to meet Dr. Cunningham. We walked with some others from our group down to the farmers market and I bought some Pink Lady freshly picked apples!! YUM!! They are the best apples I have ever eaten in my life! Then I bought a smoothie made with fresh mango, pineapple, banana, and soy milk. I got a picture so that will be posted on facebook later tonight! We walked back up the hill to the hostel and now we are waiting on some laundry to dry, then Beth, Dr. Cunningham and I are going to walk to Cotton On, a clothing store that has AMAZING discounts and to the bookstore for a leisurely afternoon (Bubbie, be jealous, they have the biggest Borders in all of New Zealand about 3 blocks down the street! It’s three levels!!) I’ll post more if anything super interesting happens today, it probably won’t though. I’m taking a break from lots of walking and doing, it’s going to be a busy week and then for the rest of the trip we will be exploring! I hope all of you are having a wonderful Friday night. Congratulations to Luke for your big day!! Wish I could’ve been there, but sending my love from NZ. ❤

PS- Just busted a little part of my lip on my laptop, shed a little blood, but I’ll survive! Lesson learned: Don’t move too quickly with a laptop corner close to your face.

Oh! And let me share a joke with you that I learned yesterday…

Once upon a time, there was a boy who was born with just a head. He was a happy boy though and loved his life. One day, a genie popped up and gave him a wish. This little boy was so excited, he knew just what he was going to wish for. He told the genie that he would love to have a body for his head. So, poof! The boy with the head now had a body. He was kind of disappointed though because he still couldn’t move around, so he wished for two arms. Poof! The boy with the head and body now had two arms. He thought that would make him happy, but he still couldn’t run like he had seen all the other children do. So, for his last wish, he wished for two legs. Poof! The boy was so excited about his new body, arms, and legs that he ran into the street jumping and shouting and BAM! was hit by a bus and died. The moral of this story: stop while you are ahead. (Get it?? Ahead… a head. HA!)

May 28, 2011 Posted by | Uncategorized | 1 Comment